The Emperor (work in progress) [C4C, MIDI, GP4, GP5]

PDA

View Full Version : The Emperor (work in progress) [C4C, MIDI, GP4, GP5]

Skillet_Panhead
06-29-2009, 08:42 PM
Phew, long time since I posted here. Okay, a little background on how this (partial) song came to be...It's sorta (heavily) inspired by Iron Maiden. I've been watching and listening to Flight 666 almost nonstop since I bought it a couple weeks ago, and I seem to just have the Maiden style drilled into my brain.

It all started with the riff at measure 50. I just started playing it one night and decided it'd be cool, but it doesn't seem to fit well at the beginning of a song. So I've basically been working towards it all day, and I've come up with some pretty cool stuff. As you will see, where it is marked "Chorus", there's nothing until measure 50, that's because this is still a work in progress and I haven't quite decided on a chorus riff yet.

I just want some feedback on what I've got so far, because I think I got something pretty good hear. And if anything seems to be 'taken' from a Maiden song, it's merely by coincidence. This song's inspired by Maiden, not stolen from, so (as I said), if some things sound the same, it isn't on purpose. To tell the truth, I haven't heard much outside of the Fear of the Dark album and what's on Flight 666.

Anyway, thanks for the feedback, hopefully it's positive, constructive, and encouraging :D
Oh, and I'll c4c on this.
--SP

(ps, wow, it really has been a while since I posted here...UG finally added upload support for Guitar Pro file extensions, sweet.)

Das_Skittles
06-29-2009, 09:00 PM
If you keep up where I think you're headed with this, it should be great. I love intro pt. 3, very Maideny. This reminds me a lot of the stuff off A Matter of Life and Death. The one thing I would suggest is putting a chord in the 2/4 measure before intro pt. 3; the drum fill just seems out of place to me. Honestly, I really like this. 7/10, keep up the good work.