[ GP4 / GP5 l MIDI ] Just Another Victim (Revised)

PDA

View Full Version : [ GP4 / GP5 l MIDI ] Just Another Victim (Revised)

BotC
07-04-2009, 12:23 AM
I decided to revisit one of my few compositions. I would've made the solo Pure Shred / moar sexy. But, right now this is one of the songs my band plans to play Live at a future show I'm writing only what I know what each member could play.

And for a limited time only, it comes with 10% more drum fill! Listen now!

Your deeply appreciated comments will be deeply appreciated.

mikemangone
07-04-2009, 12:36 AM
i have never done a crit before but this song was pretty sweet dude.
9/10.

BotC
07-04-2009, 02:58 AM
Oh yeah. C4C to anyone who wants it. :)

Progbass92
07-04-2009, 03:59 PM
Thanks for the crit.

I won't go totally into detail, but I will tell you that your main problem is that you don't have enough variation in your riffs. The verse riff was overused and even though at times, the drums saved those parts, it got stale fast. Try playing with different rhythms to make the song more interesting because most of it is straight 16ths over and over again.

Also, at the parts like measure 34, the octaves make the part sound really empty. Add some more notes to your chords to fill things out better. Play with some triads or 7 chords to make it better.

The bass also needs a lot of work. The entire track is only on two strings. Try some things like doubling or harmonizing the guitar parts with the bass or put some little fills in there to spice it up.

Sorry if I was harsh.

anacrucix
07-04-2009, 04:25 PM