Heavy Rock Song

PDA

View Full Version : Heavy Rock Song

Disgruntled Gnu
07-14-2009, 05:29 PM
This is my first attempt at writing a song. Please bear with me as it's pretty awful. I am interested in general comments but also any ideas on how to make the intro and ending better because I am not satisfied with that.

Also I am wondering if the drums are too loud.

Edit: File was compressed incorrectly :bonk:

jimmyled
07-14-2009, 05:32 PM
Link?

BlitzkriegAir
07-14-2009, 05:35 PM
i cant hear it, im sick so my telepathy isnt as good as it was

stephen_rettie
07-14-2009, 05:36 PM
its too quiet and invisible for one.

jimmyled
07-14-2009, 07:48 PM
The intro is nice, really reminds me of The Allman Brothers... And I like the Drum stuff. Altogether really nice. Crit mine? Can't be arsed to give a link sorry...

sickman411
07-14-2009, 08:02 PM
I'm going to post bit by bit and edit the post so that you can read what I've already written as I'm writing.

Intro:

Problem 1: The lead guitar melody is... well... not that melodic.
Problem 1a: The intro seems very random.
Advice: Try a simpler approach, it's an intro after all. You don't need to have notes everywhere. You can insert longer notes here and there. Plus, there don't always have to be 2 notes at a time. You can try humming or whistling something improvised over the bass and rhythm tracks and then finding the notes for that.

Problem 1b: The lead guitar doesn't go that well with the bass and the rhythm guitar.
Advice: Think of the chord you're in. Look at bar 9, for instance. The bass and the rhythm guitar are playing an F major chord but the lead is playing a G power chord. It sounds awfully dissonant. Try to base yourself in the notes of the chord that's being played. Plus, although there's nothing wrong with what you're doing in the bass, you might have to stick to the root notes sometimes. For instance, in bar 2, it might work better if you play F instead of A.