Instrumental thing (rock maybe?)

PDA

View Full Version : Instrumental thing (rock maybe?)

sfaune92
07-21-2009, 04:14 AM
I wrote this instrumental based on some licks i made up. As you see, I'm a bassist mostly, so I'm not good soloing. Please give crit or advices. C4C y'kno

Go further down for newest version

Reedd
07-21-2009, 06:09 AM
The main lick was really the only thing I liked, you used the Van Halen pattern ofc and it didn't sound to well, and I think you should change the acoustic stuff so it's not only minor chords, because I didn't like it either.

And that thrill in the beginning between A and B didn't fit.

But that's just me.

Dashbash
07-21-2009, 07:20 AM
Would be much better with good timing

sfaune92
07-21-2009, 07:28 AM
The main lick was really the only thing I liked, you used the Van Halen pattern ofc and it didn't sound to well, and I think you should change the acoustic stuff so it's not only minor chords, because I didn't like it either.

And that thrill in the beginning between A and B didn't fit.

But that's just me.

Trying to change that "thrill" now... make it a little faster maybe, change the notes etc.
The tapping solo you mean by VH pattern?, yeah, gonna fix that one a little.
Acoustic (clean electric) was a little hard to make into major, gonna look at other chords and try to fix that too.

Would be much better with good timing

What do you mean by good timing? that was the closest i got the what i played on my bro's guitar.

Kade2910
07-21-2009, 10:21 AM
I pretty much agree with everything Reedd has said, having all minor chords in that progression didn't work too well.

But the main lick had a nice feel to it. It was pretty short, so there's not much else that can be said. Keep it up =)

sfaune92
07-21-2009, 10:50 AM
Did some major fixes here and there

Changed chords from G#m - F#m - Em - A#m to G#m - F# - E - A#9
Changed tapping solo
Changed the "thrill" a little