Average pay for a bar gig?

PDA

View Full Version : Average pay for a bar gig?

CelestialChaos
08-03-2009, 11:30 PM
Hello UG Bandleaders!

Let me start out by saying that I'm not very experienced at this type of thing.

Recently, my band started learning a whole lotta covers (so we could get more shows, and to make our singer-switch easier). Anyway, we played a few local shows and festivals, and things are going great.

I've been contacted by a new bar that just opened, looking for a "reasonably priced band", they listened to our music on myspace and are interested in booking us.

I've never done this before, so what is considered "reasonably priced"? Hell, what is standard price? I'm assuming a gig like this would be two 1-hour(ish) sets or something along those lines.

I'm also in Montana, so our population is pretty low, and economic times are hard, so I imagine those things can affect the price, I'd just like to get an idea from you veterans out there!

Thanks,
-Josh
Celestial Chaos
www.myspace.com/celestialchaosmusic

chokmool
08-04-2009, 12:58 AM
I'd say that's nearly impossible to answer.

First find out exactly how many sets they want, it could be 3 or 4.

Ask them what they consider a "reasonable price".

I hate to say it, but you just need to talk to them, and negotiate a deal you can all live with.

There are too many unknown variables for me to say much else.

AlanHB
08-04-2009, 01:11 AM
Go lawyer style and invite them to make the first offer. Then ask for twice as much with reasons :D

Well maybe not the second part except if you're talking to an insurance company.

goony
08-04-2009, 07:13 AM
My friend's band gets about $1000 (AU) per gig for doing covers. Mind you they've been on the covers circuit for awhile now and that's split between 4 members i think. They get paid quite a bit less for their originals show of course. My other mate is in an acoustic duo playing pop covers and they get up to $600 (AU) a gig.