I'm new to this whole thing....

PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to this whole thing....

guitarwhizkid94
08-09-2009, 09:55 AM
Well, not really.
I've been playing the blues for just about a year now, and using ug.com for the same amount of time.
Just decided to sign up yesterday though...
I just wanted to give a shout-out to all the fellow bluesmen out there, and was wondering if anyone had any soloing tips/tricks/licks that i could use to further my soloing.
Any help appreciated!
And please, keep the licks at least slightly complicated. I am quite advanced for a one-year player (or so my guitar teacher/blues musician tells me) and I'm already past all the simple
e|-----------------8b10----6------|
B|----8-----8----------------------8|
G|-----------------------------------|
D|-----------------------------------|
A|-----------------------------------|
E|-----------------------------------|
cliche licks from all the signature artists.
Thanks!

urik
08-09-2009, 10:14 AM
Welcome to UG :). Read the rules of UG or some day you will be banned for something stupid. Though all of the mods are cool (most of the time :haha).
You may want to check this thread. Very helpful.
http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=793974

deahhizooke
08-09-2009, 10:21 AM
If you know the scales though (at least the simple blues scale) then turn on some of your favorite blues, nothing with too many breaks or pattern changes and play along. Thats how most people adapt their own style and take influences from other artists. It forces you to pick up on their rhythms to affect your solo and place emphasis on the notes in order to phrase it with the feeling of the song.
Then pick up some tabs and learn some of the solos from the songs you like so u can pick up more licks

urik
08-09-2009, 10:24 AM
^
That's some great advice. Jamming is the best way to improve yourself in the blues.

guitarwhizkid94
08-09-2009, 10:41 AM