Hmm, little advice please?

PDA

View Full Version : Hmm, little advice please?

sglover34479
12-20-2009, 09:30 PM
Alright well I've been playing guitar for about two years and I'm getting kinda good lol. I can improvise solos and write a bit, but I'm getting tired of jamming to backing tracks in my room, it's good for some loud fun on a night when I'm alone (every night :( ) So I'm thinking of starting up a band. This is southern NC so I'm not going to get anyone to play death metal like I want ideally. As I got thinking, I was trying to find a way to play something I enjoy and that might get decent reception, this being the area where old people listen to country and the kids to rap, all the metalheads don't know many bands that I like (and there are few meatlheads). So my thought, a metal band everyone knows, Metallica. I love them, and their music, and I'm sure at least a few others around here do. So here is my real question:

*SKIP TO HERE*
How cliche/practical is it to try starting up a Metallica cover band?

WD Punk
12-20-2009, 09:40 PM
dude
im in the same boat as you
im in northern sc and thats exactly what its like around here
everybody i knows listens to rap
and i love metallica im trying to start up a band w/ a few of my friends
and if you like playing metallica songs get some people to jam w/
i love metallica i saw them when they came to charlotte, i was in the second row by the way, but if its what you want to play then go for it
if anybody else thinks its stupid then **** them

sglover34479
12-20-2009, 09:42 PM
You in northern sc? Where at? I'm about 10 minutes from Mcoll if you know where it is.

WD Punk
12-20-2009, 09:43 PM
i live in lancaster south carolina im an hour away from charlotte
i cant say i know where mcoll is but it sounds familiar

SilentHeaven109
12-20-2009, 09:48 PM