Give up guitar for drums??

PDA

View Full Version : Give up guitar for drums??

GivingUp
12-22-2009, 11:13 AM
Hey, I'll keep this short as possible. Well I've been playing guitar for 6 years and I'm by NO MEANS tired of playing.

It's just that everybody that I've come in contact with and tried to start a band with is looking for a drummer. Nobody really looks for guitarists anymore (at least thats what it seems like). The simple truth is that I can't find a band and I've been looking for months!!!!

I already own a drumkit and I've been learning for 5 months now. But anyways, I was think that this might be a good idea to just be a drummer for a while and see how that goes.

I have such an eclectic taste in music that I haven't found ANYONE who can relate to me. So, I think it would be easier as a drummer for because...

1) everybody is looking for a drummer
2) I like playing drums

But how convenient is in when you're traveling alone in your car, with your drums AND your guitar/amp in the back seat?! That's not safe where I come from (Detroit).
My only worries are getting my drums stolen. :eek:

Idk, what do you guys think?

sol-sob-on-pcp
12-22-2009, 11:18 AM
move

EDIT: and play both

cthuludawn21
12-22-2009, 11:30 AM
if you have both, play both. just maybe shift your focus to drums for a little while.

Mr.Cuddles
12-22-2009, 11:45 AM
Idk, what do you guys think?
As A Drummer in a band myself i'm telling you. DO NOT quit Guitar.
play both. i write music, and show the rest of the band how to play my songs, if i didnt have my guitar it would be near impossible.
it is probably my strongest asset that i can play more than 1 instrument.

scguitarking927
12-22-2009, 12:27 PM
I actually, just bought a drum set for this reason. I could always play drums and knew my way around a set, and now finally got one to start learning on for the same reason you said. Everybodies looking for a drummer. And I have a lot of fun when I'm drumming and jamming with people.