Worship leading.

PDA

View Full Version : Worship leading.

Trudogger
01-04-2010, 11:45 AM
I'm afraid of getting chewed out for this, but I guess I'm hoping people will be a little more respectful than in the pit.

Does anybody else on UG besides me do any worship leading? If so, any tips, stories, etc?

I've been leading worship at my youth group for almost two years now, and it's been pretty great. Lots of stress and hard work, but it's helped me a lot.

BlitzkriegAir
01-04-2010, 11:51 AM
whats this have to do with bandleading?

Trudogger
01-04-2010, 11:59 AM
Worship leader -> You lead. A band. For worship.

Make sense now?

Black Star
01-04-2010, 12:01 PM

Technically, this post isn't about leading a band, but it's still just as relevant as many of these other posts. Of course, you'd know that if you knew what Worship Leading was.

I've never done it myself, since I'm not very religious. However, my uncle is the music director at a local church, and does a lot of worship leading. I don't really have any tips, but I know he has a blast with it.

james4
01-04-2010, 12:02 PM
I've done a bit of leading at church.. I'm not the most outgoing person, though, so I'm better suited to lead guitar/backing vocals, or ..to not be the designated leader, really :shrug:

Lt.DanHasLegs
01-04-2010, 12:03 PM
guess he was wrong about people being respectful.

Because often times there's a band for worship at churches, and they play songs. Or maybe this guy's just doing solo acoustic stuff, either way, its definitely music relative and certainly wouldn't fit any better anywhere else, and certainly isn't spam. Don't be a dick.

I used to, but then I realized our youth minister was an absolute ass and I haven't been back in a long time. Seemed like there was more mean spirited motives than there should be with a church thing, so I got out. It was absolutely vital to my progress as a musician though.

eaton1012
01-04-2010, 12:29 PM
Owning the song and having fun.