Making multiple bands

PDA

View Full Version : Making multiple bands

donender
01-15-2010, 09:34 PM
Ok, so in the past few weeks i have been thinking about how to make a bit of money, i am a student and have lessons nearly every day of the week, so a week job is out of the question, weekend jobs are hard to come by, so i am not making any money, so i figured the best way would be to try and make a band or two, without spreading myself too thin of course, so after kind of advertising myself, heres what i have come up with:

Band 1-A guy at uni who i haven't spoke in lessons contacted me on facebook, he said hes a drummer, his girlfriend plays bass, and he said what music they play and it turns out our tastes are very similar, so this one looks good, all we need is a vocalist, and if needs be, a second guitarist, he said his girlfriend can sing but she isn't too confident about being lead singer, i really want to get this underway ASAP, and am hoping for this one to be mostly originals or 60/40 originals/covers.

Band 2-Another guy contacted me who i have worked with before, his voice is very powerful but of nasal, but its besides the point, alot of people know him for his singing, and another guitarist who i have also worked with wants to do it too, we also have a bassist who i haven't seen play in about a year, but last time i heard him he wasn't bad, and he has apparently dedicated himself to playing, but now we just need a drummer, we will be doing covers mainly, if it starts to take off we might work on originals.

So my question is, does this sound like a good idea? And would it be acceptable to try and join or make another band as well? Or would that be spreading myself too thin, also, with the first band, should i try and find a dedicated singer, or see how it goes with the bassist singing?

JayLacelle
01-15-2010, 09:39 PM
starting a band is a bad idea for making short-term cash. you'd be lucky if you got any money from them for at least a few months.