Worst Luck Ever?

PDA

View Full Version : Worst Luck Ever?

FallenFlame332
01-18-2010, 11:30 AM
Ok so everytime I try starting up a band, it ends up never working out. Where I live, drummers who play Metal or anything like that are incredibly hard to find. The only guy I know lives about 5 min from me, but he is constantly busy and always says he is unable to play. I try getting together with my friends, but they also always have stuff coming up. I am a lead/rhythm guitarist, I have placed my ads all over craigslist, and I get responses from people who are either 60 miles from me, and ones who are in their 40's. I would like people close to me, and close to my age. Does anyone have any recommendations on what to do? I tried doing a solo project but it always fail because I loose motivation, and want to jam instead of writing/recording. Any help?

bluedude426
01-18-2010, 11:35 AM
Where do you live?

FallenFlame332
01-18-2010, 11:40 AM
Indianapolis, IN. It's known for it's punk scene, but even trying to pick up a punk drummer to play some thrash is not likely to happen.

bluedude426
01-18-2010, 11:42 AM
Well, I live in MI but I'm like the only metal drummer in my area so I get what your saying. Everyone here is into Jazz and shit. :(

2A1124
01-18-2010, 11:53 AM
Where at in MI?

Black Star
01-18-2010, 12:00 PM
Well, I live in MI but I'm like the only metal drummer in my area so I get what your saying. Everyone here is into Jazz and shit. :(

Why not combine influences? Jazz + metal make for an interesting combination.

Also, TS, you say you're wanting to jam. In my opinion, jamming should never be done with people who have the exact same music tastes as yourself. Meet up with any musicians you can that are your age, and just have fun with it.

foo_diddles
01-18-2010, 12:03 PM