Punk guitarists

PDA

View Full Version : Punk guitarists

AlChron77
02-23-2010, 07:58 PM
I'm looking to get a new guitar but I don't know much about what to look for. I've asked for advice from different people and all I really get is "Just try out as many guitars as you can and choose one that feels right" but that has not helped. I have played tons but am no closer to making a decision. I had one friend tell me to find out what kind of guitars some of my favorite bands use to help narrow it down a bit. I am pretty new to the guitar (been playing about 6 months) and don't know a hell of a lot about what I should be looking for so that seemed like a pretty good suggestion, especially considering I want to play primarily punk rock as I progress.

So does anyone know what kind of guitars these guys play?

Warren Fitzgerald of the Vandals (I know he plays Ernie Ball guitars but I don't know anything more than that).

Pete Steinkompf of the Bouncing Souls

Greg Hetson of Bad Religion (or Brett Gurewitz I guess)

Chris Wollard of Hot Water Music and The Draft

Those are the bands whose sound I like the best, but I am open to any other suggestions. Thanks, any help and/or advice is MUCH appreciated.

I-AM-NOT-GOD
02-23-2010, 08:01 PM
Chris Wollard plays a Fender Tele, I think Greg Hetson plays a Gibson Les Paul but i'm not 100%, unsure on the others.

VirtualBramm
02-23-2010, 08:04 PM
Gibson Les Paul...yes. thought that too...epiphone will do aswell tho if you aint have the money...
ofcourse youll hear a lil difference

facemelter
02-23-2010, 08:05 PM
Just get anything you like, with a humbucker pick up, and a distortion pedal. even a cheap fender squire would sound fine.

VirtualBramm
02-23-2010, 08:06 PM
also make some cuts on your guitar and some stickers to make it look punk! :D

RockThe40oz
02-23-2010, 08:09 PM
:(

SuperBlob
02-23-2010, 08:13 PM
I would say Les Paul Double Cut

But they're discontinued

:sad:

VirtualBramm
02-23-2010, 08:15 PM

isnt that for emo's?