4 finger plucking

PDA

View Full Version : 4 finger plucking

icerat
02-28-2010, 04:28 AM
Well i got my first gig as a bassist coming up..

Went to a metal gig last night and noticed the bass players seemed to be plucking with 3 fingers.

I'm a guitar player playing bass so the plucking thing is new to me.
Any gigging metal bassists plucking with 4 fingers?

TheTortured
02-28-2010, 04:29 AM
umm...you wrote 4 fingers in the title, then said the bassist u saw was playing with 3 fingers, then ask who plays with 4? which of those numbers happens to be a typo?

anyways, im a gigging metal bassist and i play with 3

pwrmax
02-28-2010, 04:31 AM
I use 3, my pinky's too short to be used :(

To be honest, if you're still new to plucking and you have a gig coming up just use a pick. It's not "lame" to play a bass with a pick, even I do it sometimes when it would sound better for the song. And since you're a guitar player then I'm sure you have some level of skill in alternate picking.

icerat
02-28-2010, 04:34 AM
yeah sorry if that was confusing....

any reason for not using 4?

i'm starting off slow and four fingers seems to be working sweet

FatalGear41
02-28-2010, 09:59 AM
If you can play with four fingers plucking the strings, then go for it. It would certainly enable you to do some incredibly fast playing. Doug Johns plays with four fingers and his technique is the best I've ever seen. Check him out to see what it can do for you.

Dawnwalker
02-28-2010, 11:15 AM
Google/Tube "Sheehan Bass Solo".

That shit is crazy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5omFFeLEXFE

tubatom868686
02-28-2010, 02:15 PM
I use 3 for gallops, and 2 for everything else. Actually, thats a lie. Sometimes Ill do stuff out of chord shapes with index, middle, ring, and thumb

Bassist Rising
02-28-2010, 02:26 PM
Most people don't find playing with your pinky easy or practical so they tend not to do it. 3 Finger plucking is very common and I doubt you'll find any bassist who can't use two.