Best guitar for small hands?

PDA

View Full Version : Best guitar for small hands?

BCGuitarist
04-24-2010, 01:30 PM
I'm a new member here so I'll give a little background about myself. I've been playing guitar for about 7 years now, playing everything from classical acoustic and now jumping into the punk/ska genre. I've owned about 5 different electrical guitars, and now that I'm a little more experienced I think I know what I'm looking for. The trouble has been finding it.

In essence, I want a guitar that I can pound power chords on, while still having a firm grip on the neck. I've learnt how to properly handle a guitar with my thumb on the back of the neck, but in high-energy performances that is not adequate for properly controlling the guitar. It might be fine for the studio, but when I'm playing live I want something I can get a firm grip on and quickly change positions to other power chords. Especially when I'm standing up, I find that my hand cramps up too much if I'm quickly changing positions with my thumb on the back of the neck. It's just too much pressure to try to control the neck that way, so ideally I would like to find a guitar where I can wrap my thumb around the neck to get a firm grip, while still being able to reach the lower strings for a power chord. I'm not looking to be like Hendrix and grab bass notes with my thumb, I just want to be able to comfortably take charge of the guitar neck.

The problem is, I have extremely small hands. From wrist to the end of my middle finger is about 7", but my fingers are disproportional small. My index finger only measures about 3". Therefore, it's been a challenge to find a really small neck where I can comfortably grab it and situate my hand into a power chord shape on the bottom three strings.