Learning to 'impersonate' singers (Ray Lamontagne, Eddie Vedder)

PDA

View Full Version : Learning to 'impersonate' singers (Ray Lamontagne, Eddie Vedder)

fngrstylgtr
07-24-2010, 09:12 PM
I can carry a tune, but I've only beein singing for a month or so so I still have a noticably 'new singer' voice... if you know what I mean. Basically, I can sing... but it requires all my focus just to keep it together... so I need more practice.

Annnyyywaaays, the point of this thread is to find out if you can, how easily you can, and how many of you can... impersonate voices. Singers more specifically. I love Ray Lamontagne's voice, same with Eddie, Thom Yorke... lots.

For the sake of this thread, let's use Ray Lamontagne. How can I work towards having a similar quality to my singing voice (throatiness, kinda scratchy)?

Also, I'll get this out of the way. A lot of you will tell me "Find your own voice etc etc". Well I am. Like I said, I'm really new to singing, and have only done a few covers and a few originals.

Thanks a ton.

Ultan000
07-24-2010, 09:19 PM
To get a scratchy kind of raspy voice, you would probably have to start smoking... Probably

fngrstylgtr
07-24-2010, 09:22 PM
I do smoke. Believe or not... although I have a mid to low range voice I am most comfortable singing in the higher range (thom yorke) very clean, with a little bit of vibrato.

edit: I could record a cover (I only have a crappy dollar store mic) and upload it... then you guys could give me advice, excersizes and tips?

Cowless
07-24-2010, 10:46 PM
Well, for one, start with impersonating singers in your range, and practice a lot. That's how I learned to impersonate James Hetfield of Metallica (who is a baritone, like me). Then, develop that into your own voice by mixing it with other styles and adding your own flair.

As for the rasp, more practice. It came naturally for me, doubly so because I was impersonating Hetfield.