Famous self-taught guitarists

PDA

View Full Version : Famous self-taught guitarists

aquamarine_55
08-01-2010, 12:34 AM
Who are some famous self-taught guitarists?

So far I have-

Eric Clapton
Eddie Van Halen
Prince
BB King
Jimmy Page (mostly)
Jimi Hendrix (?)

Any others?

slash4114
08-01-2010, 12:37 AM
Too many to even begin to count...

Stevie Ray Vaughan.

FMCmakesmesmart
08-01-2010, 12:41 AM
Rusty Cooley and Yngwie Malmsteen. Way too many to even list honestly lol. Those are the fastest guys though that are self taught, that I know of.

guitaristren
08-01-2010, 12:41 AM
Chuck Schuldiner
Dave Mustaine

connorhxcchaos
08-01-2010, 12:50 AM
Steve Vai is sorta self taught.

onanobis47
08-01-2010, 12:51 AM
Steve Vai

oh wait....

pwrmax
08-01-2010, 12:56 AM
Not really a guitarist but...

http://www.lindsayjoyhamilton.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/les-claypool.jpg

Joshua1207
08-01-2010, 02:29 AM
I think Isaac Brock taught himself.

bingeandletgo
08-01-2010, 02:42 AM
Rusty Cooley and Yngwie Malmsteen. Way too many to even list honestly lol. Those are the fastest guys though that are self taught, that I know of.

Wow, I had no clue those guys were self-taught.

Carlos Santana
John Frusciante

Not the most technically proficient, but awesome nonetheless

Fiddly Diddly69
08-01-2010, 02:48 AM
The rhythm guitarist for Avenged Sevenfold is
Dave Mustaine from Megadeth
I think Kerry King is too

grungebaby
08-01-2010, 04:11 AM
kurt cobain and i think dave grohl, i know he was a self taught drummer

The.new.guy
08-01-2010, 04:21 AM
Isn't Herman Ri self- taught?

Fender Dane.
08-01-2010, 04:22 AM
A little related info, which I am fairly sure is true. I heard somewhere that Slash and Dave Grohl can't read music also, which I found a little funny because I also read many places that music reading is something every professional recording artist simply need to know.

The.new.guy
08-01-2010, 04:29 AM
You're ****ing shittin' me...Really?????!!!????? O_O

grungebaby