Tuning down 2 half steps?


PDA

View Full Version : Tuning down 2 half steps?


That80sGuy
10-01-2010, 12:44 PM
I'm pretty sure to tune down 1 half step you can put the capo on the first fret and tune your guitar to standard tuning. (Correct me if I'm wrong!) My question is to tune down 2 half steps, would I just put the capo on the second fret and tune to standard tuning? Thanks!

JohnnySolo
10-01-2010, 12:48 PM
jep. pretty much

Dimefromhell12
10-01-2010, 12:50 PM
um... you mean like open standard tuning of standard when the capo is on? and why dont you just google "d standard guitar tuner?"

conor-figgy
10-01-2010, 12:50 PM
Why don't you just tune to the right notes?

crzysnowborder
10-01-2010, 12:57 PM
why would you tune your guitar down a whole step and put a capo on to be in standard? why not just tune to standard and play? unless you're playing one song in standard and another song a whole step down.

but yes, if you tuned your guitar a whole step down, you could put a capo on the second fret and be in standard.

dakotajoe
10-01-2010, 03:27 PM
If you tune down two whole steps then the capo needs to be on the third fret.

whybag
10-01-2010, 04:02 PM
If you tune down two whole steps then the capo needs to be on the third fret.
2 halves, not 2 wholes.

tom183
10-01-2010, 06:44 PM
A capo is an unneccessary part of the process. Just grab a tuner and tune your guitar to DGCFAD.

patticake
10-01-2010, 07:05 PM
so basically you want your guitar in standard tuning, but using a capo instead of open? i, too, am curious why you would do that.

I'm pretty sure to tune down 1 half step you can put the capo on the first fret and tune your guitar to standard tuning. (Correct me if I'm wrong!) My question is to tune down 2 half steps, would I just put the capo on the second fret and tune to standard tuning? Thanks!

Sampy
10-04-2010, 04:52 PM
so basically you want your guitar in standard tuning, but using a capo instead of open? i, too, am curious why you would do that.

I do this sometimes. If I want to play a song a tone down then play one in standard then I'll just capo it. Saves having to tune it up and down all the time, especially at gigs.

OctoberWind
10-05-2010, 08:33 AM
OP doesn't know that two halves equals a whole. We're all confusing him. :haha: