As a guest musician, I refused to pay for rehearsal time. Right, or wrong?

PDA

View Full Version : As a guest musician, I refused to pay for rehearsal time. Right, or wrong?

urik
02-04-2011, 11:49 AM
8 months ago I left my band on good terms since they played straight rock and I want to play progressive rock. We kept talking through the internet, and I went to some of their gigs. I was invited to the other guitarist's birthday, and to other parties related to them. Our relationship was still cool, no grudges, still friends.
One week ago my replacement moved to another city to study medicine, so they asked me to replace him for a gig. I don't want to rejoin the band, but I'm always down for a gig so of course, I agreed.
Well, today after the rehearsal they included me in the rehearsal pay figures, so I said that I'm not part of the band and shouldn't pay.

Was I in the wrong? I played as a guest on another gig and wasn't asked to help with the rehearsal room. I'm doing them a favor after all :confused: .

sgwielder
02-04-2011, 11:52 AM
You're fine, unless they said beforehand they'd expect you to pay

KingHenrik1967
02-04-2011, 11:55 AM
nah, not your responsibility. unless pre-asked

Gulli05
02-04-2011, 12:04 PM
Unless they mentioned it before you agreed it is not your problem.

Eskil Rask
02-04-2011, 12:04 PM
You did the right thing in refusing. YOU did THEM a service and should not have to pay.

Xeus
02-04-2011, 12:14 PM
its their fault for not saying

HalfDose
02-04-2011, 03:14 PM
Yeah, maybe it should have been discussed before. But how much are we talking $10-$15??

I am about to hook up with a band who lost thier bass player. I've layed out that I will commit time to learn thier already writen songs, add my dna, record thier album and play a few shows until they find a full time replacement. I WILL NOT be paying for thier $300/mo practice space or ANY of the recording cost. Keeping it casual, but we agreed upon this upfront.

the_perdestrian