band forming troubles

PDA

View Full Version : band forming troubles

crice6505
02-11-2011, 09:29 AM
Not to toot my own horn, but i am a decent high school guitarist, my school usees me for all the musical functions im allowed to be used on. ex show choir, mass, talent shows, etc. Eveeryone kinda knows who i am as well as several other decent musicians in the school. I play with college guys alot, and they really like my playing.

id kinda like to learn to play with high school kids though, however, most of the more skilled players dont want a band really its kind of seen as cheesy, we just kinda use eachother for shows when we need em. so most of the kids that actually want a "band" are bad other than me and my drummer. i dont wholly no how to tell the other kids no nicely because they are decent kids.

the strongest pusher of this idea is a certain bassist. we kinda have similar musical tastes, but hes been playing bass for like a year, and drums for awhile but hes not very good. how does one say no to people like this who are good friends?

Malchius
02-11-2011, 09:46 AM
Just stop being elitist and let him play, if he can only play root notes along with your riffs let him. It might be what you need. Also people tend to learn a lot more from playing with others, so he might get better. I started playing with people after 6 months of playing guitar by myself and learnt a lot quicker by watching others.

Das Turnip
02-11-2011, 09:48 AM
I don't think everyone in the band has to be a musical genius. If you've already got complex drums and guitar then a simple bass line might work well, depends on what your after really. The best way for him to get better would be for him to play with better musicians, such as yourself.

morciu
02-11-2011, 09:52 AM
yeah.
what these guys said.
seriously how bad could he be?

xharass_natox
02-11-2011, 10:04 AM