Getting into a band as a beginner musician

PDA

View Full Version : Getting into a band as a beginner musician

Tobyflyr
02-11-2011, 06:54 PM
Right, I hope this is the right place to post, otherwise feel free to flame and what not..

Im a beginner guitarist, at least i consider myself a beginner, I've been playing guitar for about 18 months, and i feel I've learned quite a bit i think my technique is decent I am able to play most of the solo's i attempt to learn at a (for me) satisfying level and my rhythm guitar is allright i think.

The thing is I'd really love to get into a band, but I don't know if I'm good enough to fool around with other musicians, Im not a very good improviser, my music theory knowledge is faulty at best and my 'hearing' skills aren't very good.

I have played covers with a few friends before but they're not interested in bands and one of them isnt the type of guy you would want to have in a band, very unreliable and such.

How should i go about finding people for a beginners band, and should I? or am i better off staying in my basement practicing untill i can recognize keys and play along right off the bat?

What to do, what did you do? I'm 21 years and noone i know at school playing music, at last not in a beginners level.

carnagereap666
02-11-2011, 07:01 PM
Well, you should get more experience. A little more than a years playing is just starting to get you into more advance techniques and in a little time, you'll be opening up a new world of experience. Would you rather go into a band not knowing what key they're playing in, or not knowing what the timing is? Or would you want to go in knowing exactly what's going on and what you're playing as you playing it?

Kortez3000
02-11-2011, 07:03 PM
Its not so easy to spot a musician. There should be others who play around your area, finding them is something else. I met a couple of musicians via Facebook and they knew somebody who played too.