First actual setlist!

PDA

View Full Version : First actual setlist!

McGryphon
03-02-2011, 09:22 AM
Hiya,
I've been playing in a band for a year now, and so far we've gone through 3 drummers and 2 singers before arriving at the current stable line-up. We've got:
A drummer with 12 years of experience, immensely good player
A bassist who doesn't even know himself how long he's been playing, probably due to the pot. Decent player though.
A singer who is christian, but loves metal. He suggested to do Slayer's "Cult", so his belief doesn't hinder him. He carries a more than decent tune and can scream quite nicely, his growls/grunts are sub-par though. Luckily, we don't need those :p:
Me, myself and I, as rhythm guitar player. I've been playing for 2 years now, and can manage songs like Metallica's Damage Inc. and Slayer's World Painted Blood with some effort.
And lastly, our lead guitarist, who started playing 1 month before me. His biggest problem is raw speed and keeping rhythm, but he's getting better at it.

Now, after boring you all with this information nobody's going to remember, I'll get back to the topictitle. We've constructed a first short setlist. And I'd like constructive comments on it, you might view this setlist as a baseline for playing in the sort of bars we all visit, and want to play at; most nights, this setlist would fit in quite nicely concerning speed, loudness and grittiness. We'd still like to know what we might change for the better though. Now, without further ado, the 7-song list!
1. Judas Priest - Hellion/Electric Eye
2. Black Sabbath - Paranoid -> Possibly something by Shinedown or the Offspring
3. Iron Maiden - The Wicker Man
4. Metallica - For whom the bell tolls
5. Metallica - ...And Justice for all (shortened)
6. Black Sabbath - Heaven and hell
7. Motörhead - Overkill

Keep on banging them loving heads!

jonny108
03-02-2011, 09:29 AM
kinda helps to know whom you're going to be playing to.

Dempsey68
03-02-2011, 09:34 AM