Requiem (Inspired by Todays Natural Disaster - GP5 & MIDI)

PDA

View Full Version : Requiem (Inspired by Todays Natural Disaster - GP5 & MIDI)

HappyGilmore899
03-11-2011, 12:56 PM
I'll keep this brief. As someone who's been struggling with his own mortality and role on this earth, today's natural disaster in the Pacific has really hit me kinda hard. Waking up to the news I just felt the need to write something. I'm not a great musician with any voice to be heard but doing this has helped me this morning and if anyone else feels the same, maybe it can help as well.

Musically: It's a Simple, 2 Track (Acoustic/Keys) and short 48 Bar instrumental. Repetitive but it's what happened. Feedback or anything in general welcome.

dylann
03-12-2011, 02:18 AM
it is a good peice

juckfush
03-12-2011, 02:52 AM
For the context you've written this piece, the instrumentation and minimalism served very well - it's a composition whose intended purpose is geared more towards thought-invoking than anything else, and it's succeeded in fulfilling that purpose.

When listening back, I couldn't help but feel the vamping of the guitar reminded me of a music box's accompaniment, so I switched the piano track to a music box, which I think presents more of that dream-like or sentimental quality. I also raised the piano/music box's parts up an octave, as it seemed to blend in too much when in close register to the guitar's parts, and got lost in the mix. To change the register, I headed to Instrument Properties and raised each string by an octave there (and soaked the piano part in the 8va symbol, so it wouldn't be awful to read :p: ).