Why is this drummer horrible?

PDA

View Full Version : Why is this drummer horrible?

MidniteHaze
05-02-2011, 01:20 PM
Ok, please don't flame this post. I want to know why everyone thinks Lars Ulrich (yes, please no flame) is not a good drummer. Lars' drumming is my favorite sound in Metallica (and Im a guitarist!). Without the obvious childish 'He sucks' 'Napster' 'Hes a dick' statements, I cant find why hes not more of an inspiration in drummers.

Unholy.Daemon
05-02-2011, 01:26 PM
he used to be good i think, but now he's getting older, his standard has dropped massively..

ChucklesMginty
05-02-2011, 01:32 PM
Because:

His double bass work is very poor.
He's been doing the same kick/snare pattern his whole career.
Metallica are awful at holding a steady tempo live on the faster songs.
He's not really done anything very new on his instrument.

Vitor_vdp
05-02-2011, 01:34 PM
Because:

Metallica are awful at holding a steady tempo live.

Basically, all that. Apart from the live playing, which I cannot confirm.
He never does anything interesting really.

HomerSGR
05-02-2011, 01:34 PM
He can't hold a steady beat today and there is no variation in his drumming. He has simplified Metallica's songs to be able to play them live. A horrible drummer, really.

s-o-u-l-f-l-y
05-02-2011, 01:35 PM
He was always OK. (drummer here). I read Joel McIver's Justice For All: The Truth About Metallica in which it is made fairly clear that when Lars was auditioning he was always a mediocre drummer. Not a lot of his stuff is exactly mind-blowing even for his time...He has endurance but as a drummer in THIS era he just doesn't stand out. I'm not saying he's bad but he's not great.

strat0blaster
05-02-2011, 01:36 PM
He's a good, solid rock drummer. I'd say as far as 'metal' goes, he's mediocre IMO, but as a rock drummer, he's 100% solid.

He just forgoes the flashy stuff that, when you get down to it, isn't necessary beyond preference.

JD2k9
05-02-2011, 01:46 PM