hooking up my guitar to the computer


PDA

View Full Version : hooking up my guitar to the computer


colen
04-10-2005, 02:57 PM
ok i want to hook my guitar up to my computer and record me playing guitar:D soo do i hook my guitar into the amp cord then into the adaptor i bought > then into the microphone jack in my computer or in a difrent hole?



and what program is free that i can download that lets me record my playing?:confused:

danilo19
04-10-2005, 02:59 PM
sometimes just plugging it starit in doesnt work you can either use a mic or power it by goin through apedal or sumthin and as for programs.......Audacity is really good. and you can put it into the microphone jack or the Blue one next to it if your wholes are all color coordinated

Voldragon
04-10-2005, 02:59 PM
A free recording program is audacity, just type it in google and it should come up, its pretty simple to use

colen
04-10-2005, 03:05 PM
^^ im haveing trouble downloading it..... it keeps sayifn cant find server


LAME MP3 encoder - Allows Audacity to export MP3 files.

VST Enabler - Allows Audacity to load VST plug-ins.

Plug-Ins -Download additional effects and filters.



which one should i get?

CvPrEpKiLLaH
04-10-2005, 03:06 PM
get a different mirror. get a midi cable, better, and easier to manage once recorded

colen
04-10-2005, 03:08 PM
^^^ what do you mean a difrent mirror?

les_kris
04-10-2005, 05:43 PM
Get a riff tracker, I swear by the heavily diminishing good name of enland its worth it :D

colen
04-10-2005, 06:11 PM
hmm... is a riff tracker a program or sumthin?

colen
04-10-2005, 11:07 PM
can anyone help?

Master Of Shred
04-11-2005, 12:01 AM
You should plug your guitar into your amp, then a cable from your amps line out ( or direct out ) to your comp. line in, that's one of the 3 holes around the hole where your speakers are in, in my case it is the middle one. Try.....

And download 'Cool Edit Pro' from kazaa, cool program ;)

colen
08-15-2005, 11:07 PM
ok soo i finally got the adaptor for my guitar cable so this is what i did


guitar----->amp------->cable from line out to back of cumputer


i downloaded audicity and i can not figure out how i record my self.

can someone help me ?

i cant even get sound on my computer



edit: where do i plus the line out from my amp into?:confused:

colen
08-15-2005, 11:42 PM
ok i figured how to record but when i do it sound really fuzzy, like i will record and in teh backround it seems really rerally fuzy......

how can i prevent this?

SilentDeftone
08-16-2005, 10:23 AM
I plug straight from Guitar -> Adapter -> Computer Audio-In. The program I use (GarageBand) has some decent amp modeling.

-SD :dance:

colen
08-16-2005, 10:27 AM
^^ can i download it or do i have to go buy it?

SilentDeftone
08-16-2005, 10:34 AM
I don't know. It came installed on my computer (G4 Apple Powerbook).

-SD :dance:

jeenyus_09
08-16-2005, 11:24 AM
GarageBand is only for Apple comps if i am correct, and im guessing that you dont have one of them. That is a really great program, however i use the free Audacity program. if you're going from your amps line out into the microphone jack on your comp, you can't use distortion, i found that out the hard way as well. so either buy a cheap microphone or buy a program that has amp modeling so you can distort your playing by editing it once recorded. hope i helped
cheers

colen
08-16-2005, 11:29 AM
i can get distorion on audacity, but i just cant get a clear tone, its fuzzy all the time in the backround, so i wanna know if there is any other free prgrams that are fairly good?

FacingUsAll
08-16-2005, 11:37 AM
Buy a guitarport. $99 bucks with a whole lot of amp modeling (I'm not too sure about the quality of the amp modeling, I'm no tone ***** :)).

Guitar -> Guitarport -> Computer

It's that easy :)

colen
08-16-2005, 12:01 PM
i would do that but i only got $17.95 :( so im kinda screwed till my next check

but what im lookin for maby with audicity is there any settingsto make some of the static and fuzz go away?

FacingUsAll
08-16-2005, 01:18 PM
First, you highlight a few seconds of your track where you aren't doing anything.

Go to "Effects" -> "Noise Removal" and hit "Get Noise Profile" - then select the whole track and go back to the Noise Remover. Slide the slider ALL THE WAY LEFT (trust me) and hit "Remove Noise" and BAM! static and fuzz go away.

colen
08-16-2005, 01:26 PM
^^^FacingUsAll you are amazing!

now it sounds like a wah pedal or some organ or sumthin :eek:

that didnt work to good

MrChestnut118
07-19-2009, 10:43 AM
guys i got a good program called waves guitar solo 3.5 it's brilliant + free for a year

Haz4510
07-19-2009, 12:43 PM
What I do is just simply mic the amp I used a singstar mic and it's good quality
I can also use my digitech fx via USB
I recommend just simply recording through a mic then using audacity

micren
04-03-2012, 11:13 AM
I just got an Apogee Jam (http://www.apogeedigital.com/products/jam.php) - works amazingly well with GarageBand on both an iPad and a Mac. I imagine it would work with Audacity on the PC side. I believe the cable that comes with Rocksmith works as a USB audio input as well.