Metal Riffs 101

PDA

View Full Version : Metal Riffs 101

ChildOfBodom666
10-11-2005, 07:37 AM
Alright, first I'd like to introduce myself, my names Andrew and I've been playing for 6 months, I know it doesn't seem like long but I practice twice as much as anyone I know. Now, on to the lesson

First, tune your guitar to standard tuning. If you don't have a tuner, strike the fifth fret on the top string, it should be the thickest, it's called the E string, now hit the one right below it, if the sounds match, those two strings are tuned! Repeat this process down until you reach the 3rd and 2nd to the bottom, on these strings, instead of the fifth fret, pick the 4th. These are the only two strings this rule comes into play with.

POWERCHORDS 101

A powerchord, is basicly a strum, in which most cases uses the top four strings, mostly the top two or three. There are, as far as I know, two kinds of powerchords, since you are probably a beginner, I won't use the fancy names, lets call the first type, the straight down powerchords. They usually consist of two or three strings, one finger across the same fret on all three, like this, but note they aren't be definition powerchords, I'm simply including them in this section because it requires the same "quick strumming" motion with your pick.:

|-------|
|-------|
|-------|
|5-5-7-7|
|5-5-7-7|
|5-5-7-7|

Now, play that a few times to get the feel of it. You should be using distortion or overdrive, if you aren't already, turn it on, and slam it again!
The second type, is done with usually two fingers, the index on the thickest string in the chord, and another on the next two, but two frets down, like this:

|-------|
|-------|
|-------|
|5-5-7-7|
|5-5-7-7|
|3-3-5-5|

Play that a few times, using downstrokes only for now! I want you to play both of those examples a few times, then try and play this.

|-----------------------|
|5-7-5-7-5-7-5-7-5-7-5-7|
|5-5-5-5-5-5-5-5-5-5-5-5|