Grand Funk Railroad

PDA

View Full Version : Grand Funk Railroad

TheHeartbreaker
12-11-2005, 04:56 PM
Well, I searched and didn't find any threads particularly about this band, so I figured, "Why not make a thread about 'em?".

So, tell me what you guys think. I feel like they're an under appreciated band. Critics never thought of them as being that great, yet they were a very successful hard rock band of the 70s. Usually none of their members are mentioned on any "greatest" lists, which I guess I can agree with, yet they're never mentioned in any band threads.

I got a live album of them at a few concerts (mainly in Chicago), along with another album or two. They're definetly a rowdy (sp?) band who can get you pumped. While "We're An American Band" is a great song, I think a lot of their other stuff is awesome too.

I'm not very good at starting threads, so I guess I can just respond to you guys's posts. What do you guys think of Grand Funk?

SomeEvilDude
12-11-2005, 05:02 PM
Not a huge fan to be honest. I have their 'Classic Masters' CD, which is a greatest hits compilation. A few songs that were pretty good, but nothing that absolutely grabbed me.

That being said though, 'Time Machine' is a damn good song. I suggest you all go listen to it.

TheHeartbreaker
12-11-2005, 05:04 PM
Yeah, Time Machine is great. It's one of my favorites by them.

hippiemusic101
12-11-2005, 05:13 PM
eh...

JimiSlashPage
12-11-2005, 05:13 PM
I'm not really a huge fan of them.

Izz
12-11-2005, 05:16 PM
Well I'll check em out:D they're one of gn'rs influences.

misfits385
12-11-2005, 05:21 PM
I've never heard of them.

Infinite-Reason
12-11-2005, 09:48 PM
Im starting to get into them. My favs right now are Got This Thing on the Move, People Let's Stop the War, and Footstompin Music

MetallichaoS
05-17-2006, 07:53 PM
Grand Funk Railroad is killer.