Gig settings

PDA

View Full Version : Gig settings

ferox
01-01-2006, 04:27 PM
Well.. I'm not very experienced at this point, so I have some questions about the amp settings I'm supposed to use at a gig, just a band rehearsal. How should the settings of the rhythm guitar, lead guitar and base guitar be related to each other. I can do it by ear, but I'm just wondering whether there are some guidlines or something to hold on to.

thnx in advance people :peace:

Slash Jr.
01-02-2006, 01:10 PM
It's really however you want it, but I'll give you some tips.

*Lead guitar should be loudest, bass in the middle, and rhythm guitar the least volume.

*If you use alot of reverb on a song, turn some of the reverb down for gigs.

There's really not alot different you do for gigs then for normal band practice except for volume levels go higher. You should practice like your gigging.

ferox
01-03-2006, 06:58 PM
aaight, thnx mate, any other suggestions?

Freunleven
01-03-2006, 07:51 PM
I'm just curious: Why should the rhythm be the quietest? They're playing different parts. Set the rhythm amp on the opposite side of the stage from the lead amp, with the volumes set relatively equal. However, the lead should stand out with more high-end (for soloing) and the rhythm with a bit more low end (but not as low as the bass).

Set the bass amp on the same side as the lead amp, to even out the rhythm section sounds across the stage. If you've got a keyboard player, too . . . . well, I'm still working on that. We've got one, and he gets moved around from rehearsal to rehearsal. Just one of the those things, y'dig.