How can I get some direction with my unexprienced friends in our jamming?

PDA

View Full Version : How can I get some direction with my unexprienced friends in our jamming?

PhoeglePott
03-15-2006, 09:21 PM
I have a couple buddies I have been jamming with for a few years now. One plays drums and is still kinda newby but can keep simple beats and I've found ways to work around it. My other friend plays guitar and knows no theory and really shows no desire to learn any of it when I try to explain it to him. He's one of my best friends and I pretty much taught him evrething on guitar. But when it comes to jamming they just freak out and crank up and all that comes out is a bunch of white noise. I've got them to settle down and get serious on some rare occasions and we actually got some stuff worked at now that we can do if we're all on the same page. But frankly and I don't blame em, they get tired of me tring to correct them all the time, and I do feel bad about it, but in the same sense if we are ever going go get anywhere we need some discipline and I'm the only one who realizes it. Another thing is my friend that plays guitar has wrote a few really cool songs but the for the few good ones he's wrote he's got a bunch that dont make any sense that he thinks are awsome. And I know exactly where he's coming from because when I was younger and started playing I did the exact same thing but still dont know how to tell him that the riffs and stuff just dont add up into a song ya know. I mean I'm not tring to sound like a pompas asshole or nothing if thats how Im coming across to people but on the same level, sense I'm the only one with a strong music background I think It's my duty to try and keep them coraled ya know so if we do ever get a gig; we're not getting boo'd or laughed off the stage. Please give me some help!!!!!

hobo467
03-15-2006, 09:28 PM