What do you do? (Band Practice)

PDA

View Full Version : What do you do? (Band Practice)

Sweetbabyjezuz
03-18-2006, 04:11 PM
Okay, i'm just wondering, i've never done this before.

If you're meeting up with a drummer/rhythem player for the first time....what do you do?

Does everybody just start playing **** and you come in? lol
Do you just cover a song?
Or do you try and work together for your own song?

Is there some sort of natural progression we should go through

Murph_DeVane
03-18-2006, 04:17 PM
it depends on what you want to get accomplished.
if youre there to write material, start by brainstorming. if youre just having fun, then just come out and start playing

SickMetal
03-18-2006, 04:18 PM
What I did was when we all come together for the first time, if you have similar musical tastes (hopefully you do if you're in the same band), see if you know some of the same songs and play 'em. If not, maybe before you meet up, pick a song that you can agree on and play it together. Playing a cover or two is a good way to start out and learn how to play together. After than you can make up some of your own ****.

That's just what I'd do, there's no rules.

Beat-Monkey
03-18-2006, 04:18 PM
our band had the same problem, we decided to each take it in turns to cover a song, to get used to playing together.

Smokey Amp
03-18-2006, 04:19 PM
You have to let them know that guitar is the most important instrument in the band, so, turn it up to 10 and force them to follow your lead. :)

If they do disagree, just ask the drummer to play an instrumental on drums, he'll soon shut up.

ilovethinlizzy
03-18-2006, 04:24 PM
You have to let them know that guitar is the most important instrument in the band, so, turn it up to 10 and force them to follow your lead. :)

If they do disagree, just ask the drummer to play an instrumental on drums, he'll soon shut up.

HAhahahahahahahaha.............................nice, a little arrogant but nice

stringmagician
03-18-2006, 04:28 PM