The Song(s) that changed your view on guitar?

PDA

View Full Version : The Song(s) that changed your view on guitar?

FaultySanity
03-20-2006, 11:56 PM
I remember a guitarworld issue (dec 05, i think) that had "The Album that changed your life" thing on it, were they asked many popular guitarists what album changed their life. I was wondering the same about all you folks, except with the song (or songs) that changed you view on guitar.

For me, it was only recently. Ive been playing guitar for 3 years now and last week i heard the song that blew my mind into its basic elements (thats right...its basic elements). Its called "Searching" by Joe Satriani, and the acually lick im talking about starts at 00:55. Its more than a lick, in my opinion. I feel as if it makes a message out of a guitar. The album its in is called "Is there love in space?" and i think it fits it perfectly. It has the sense of almost a "searching" feel to it. Its such an indescribable feeling when i hear it. Its something that can never be put into words.

Ive always read in magazines in interviews about how an artist or song changed someones life...but i never really felt it until i heard this song.

So anyway, whats a song that really made you re-think your guitar playing?

EndlessGrey
03-21-2006, 12:04 AM
Anything But Mine by Kenny Chesney. Sure, its just a country diddy but I heard it and the fingerpicking sus and major chords and the simple time signatures just spoke to me. the solo made me take. my guitar playing in a new direction. that song makes me feel like im on a mountain.

lucretia_45
03-21-2006, 12:08 AM
Dream Theaters Scenes From A Memory, or Jason Beckers Perpetual Burn
when i heard them i actually started to sit down with a metronome and practiced properly, which has helped a bunch.

XzX_Patrick_XzX
03-21-2006, 12:08 AM
In The Solo Of Cemetary Gates By Pantera When Dime Goes The **** Off.

EZLN libertad
03-21-2006, 12:10 AM
a lot of songs have done it for me