Finger Speed

PDA

View Full Version : Finger Speed

harkkam
03-21-2006, 10:45 PM
HI guys, Im a total newbie and Im using guitar tabs to learn how to play the guitar and Im really stuck, becuase I just cant seem to get faster, my fingers dont move fast enough and they dont have clean notes or they hit the wrong string. What should I do? I tired streching my fingers and they just dont move fast enough to where I want them. My hands jar and freeze at times. Why?

How can I fix and exercise my fingers to get them to move faster and hold stronger.

bob311
03-21-2006, 10:51 PM
first, slow down, alot. learn everything so slow you can play it perfectly, then just get faster and faster over time.

Schecter88
03-21-2006, 10:53 PM
Practice Practice practice, Id suggest working on some scales, Do you do any currently? I have a begginers guitar lessons for free on the internet, lemme find the link real quick, should give yiou a good basis on where to start. Here's the link http://guitar.about.com/library/blguitarlessonarchive.htm?terms=guitar+lessons

harkkam
03-21-2006, 11:09 PM
Im very new I dont know when you mean chords or scales

BlackViper
03-21-2006, 11:26 PM
Slow things down then slowly speed up. Also try doing some chromatic scales.
If you dont know what a chromatic scale is its 1 2 3 4 on each string. ( Im not good at explaining things)

CanadianLoonie
03-21-2006, 11:27 PM
Yeah chromatic scales will help your finger speed greatly. Also play random chords gradually getting faster to get more familiar with them.

Edit:

Chromatic scales are like this:

e|-----------------------------------------------------1-2-3-4-5-4-3-2----------
B|------------------------------------------1-2-3-4--------------------5-4-3-2--
G|-------------------------------1-2-3-4----------------------------------------
D|---------------------1-2-3-4--------------------------------------------------
A|-----------1-2-3-4------------------------------------------------------------