Cover Song Criticism?!? Thoughts...

PDA

View Full Version : Cover Song Criticism?!? Thoughts...

Rymurda
04-01-2006, 09:21 PM
So me and a high school buddy formed a cover band (although we have written a few of our own songs) a few months back. We've both been playing guitar for several years, the both of us are 100% self taught. I've never been in a band before, so basically I didn't care at all what type of music we played, I just wanted to get some stage experience, play with a full band, and just have some fun. Of course they are huge "punk" fans, and I would rather play classic rock/80's/early 90's style music.

Anyways last week we had our very first gig in my hometown...(where noone really knows how to play guitar, or any instrument for that matter) And it was a huge turnout for such a little town and the gig went great, everyone loved it, it was a lot of fun, blah blah blah.

The thing is, many of the songs we did require little skill...Some Green Day, Blink, All American Rejects, etc.....I'm sure you understand what I'm getting at. We are a cover band and our intent is to have fun and entertain, maybe even make a little bit of money on the side. But we both live in a college town, where ALL of the bands are original....there aren't really any cover bands around the area. In these forums you see trash talk regarding that music all the time, which I can understand because it is simple to play...

We play on campus in just over a month, and I'm just worried about a negative reaction, simply because its a cover band and even more because of the style of songs we do. There are many musicians on campus, and judging by the way people talk on this forum, I'm afraid of the same reaction. Is this logical? Is there any advice you can give me regarding this? Any experience with this?

drop-dead666
04-01-2006, 09:28 PM