Anchor or No Anchor??

PDA

View Full Version : Anchor or No Anchor??

Pages : [1] 2 3

camo9543
04-03-2006, 09:46 PM
well I am just starting to learn how to shred and I wanna know if anchoring will limit my atlernate picking speed or not

Rockon914
04-03-2006, 09:56 PM
what the hell does it mean to anchor?

Hypnot1st
04-03-2006, 09:56 PM
I don't know if it really matters much, but I've heard anchoring slows you down.

Led_Zeppelin_37
04-03-2006, 09:58 PM
kk

camo9543
04-03-2006, 10:02 PM
yeah anchoring is either using your pinkie or three fingers for support i just wannt find out so i can change now so it wont be harder to change later if i need to and i dont want to limit myself

ferretman
04-03-2006, 10:03 PM
Congratulations you have just posted thread number 100000000 on this topic. Do a search before you start threads.
But anyway there are to many awesome guitarists that anchor their pinkie or palm or whatever for it to be a problem. eg. John Petrucci, Marty Friedman, Joe Stump, Michael Angelo Batio, Steve Morse just to name a few.

John Kimble
04-03-2006, 10:51 PM
Anchoring will not slow you down, anyone who says it does is just being anal.

steve vai82
04-03-2006, 10:59 PM
i have read from several different sources that say anchoring is bad. Now, if virtuoso's like Pertrucci, MAB, and Marty anchor than obviously anchoring can be good too. But as for me, I was reading a different thread on this topic today and I tried to get used to not anchoring and I can tell you honestly my speed has already improved a little. Its hard to get used to not anchoring (primarily dealing with accuracy) but I think its worth it. That way your wrist is not restricted as much.

Paint
04-03-2006, 11:08 PM
i was always told anchoring your pinky was good.

Rocket2D4
04-03-2006, 11:36 PM
I anchor my pinky wihtout thinking about it, sometimes.

or do mean anchor your palm to the bridge sort of speak ?
Just a slight movement of my palm gose from mutting to ring.