What speed

PDA

View Full Version : What speed

radiantmoon
04-05-2006, 11:52 PM
\ok shred is the art of playing extremely fast right?well what speed defines when you are shredding? in bpm? :confused:

TheUltimateSin
04-05-2006, 11:54 PM
No. There's more to it than playing really fast. I can't wait for Resi to see this.....Or apoc...or PooKoo..or Beckerism.....along with the rest of the regs...

This will be settled soo enough :)

radiantmoon
04-05-2006, 11:58 PM
No. There's more to it than playing really fast. I can't wait for Resi to see this.....Or apoc...or PooKoo..or Beckerism.....along with the rest of the regs...

This will be settled soo enough :)

I seriously cant wait either because I really dont have a clue about shred, im a blues player. Im just getting into people like vai and gilbert and wanted some clarity. So your saying its not about playing fast. So I could play at 20 bpm and I could be shredding?

killfrog
04-06-2006, 12:01 AM
shreding is not a specific speed. sure its sometimes playing fast but there is no speed qualification to be able to shred. and you dont just get up and learn it. you pracitce like normal and soon you will be able to play like that naturaly.

TheUltimateSin
04-06-2006, 12:04 AM
I seriously cant wait either because I really dont have a clue about shred, im a blues player. Im just getting into people like vai and gilbert and wanted some clarity. So your saying its not about playing fast. So I could play at 20 bpm and I could be shredding?

No, I'm saying there is more to it than just playing fast. But, being more educated in the field than I, one of the regs will be able to explain it far better than I could.

Beckerism
04-06-2006, 12:04 AM

If you can play some blues, you most likely can shred.

radiantmoon
04-06-2006, 12:17 AM
[QUOTE=Beckerism]If you can play some blues, you most likely can shred.[/QUOT

how do you figure. the blues i play is mostly quite slow. so is shred playing fast melodicaly??

flesh fries