The Song that got you into the Blues

PDA

View Full Version : The Song that got you into the Blues

IrishBlues
04-17-2006, 09:09 PM
Hey Im curious what would be the one song that got you into the blues.

Im 15 and have been a blues fan for about 2 years now. For me it would start with Claptons more modern stuff that I heard then I got into some Stevie and Hendrix. Which lead me back into B.B., John Lee Hooker and all the way back to Robert Johnson. But if I had to pick the one song that really made me realize that I loved blues was hearing Stevie play Texas Flood. Never heard someone with so much passion ....

voxdude26
04-17-2006, 09:13 PM
mine was Pride and Joy by SRV.

twistedsister
04-17-2006, 09:13 PM
Dude, the day I started playing guitar( October 4, 2003) my teacher said, Dude if you wanna play rock or metal or anything else you gotta know the blues. He showed me how to play a simplified version of Johny b Goode and I was hooked.

Johnsonville
04-17-2006, 10:03 PM
red house by JIMI HENDRIX

master
04-17-2006, 10:34 PM
the live version of midnight rambler by the rolling stones

Nefro
04-17-2006, 10:57 PM
Where Did You Sleep Last Night? by Leadbelly

I remember hearing the nirvana song and liking it, so I got a best of Leadbelly and listened to that song. The vocals and guitar style just won me over, and I've loved blues ever since.

SomeEvilDude
04-18-2006, 06:27 AM
Red House, by Hendrix.
From that, moved onto SRV, got into Cream, and then dived headfirst (note to others: don't do it) into Robert Johnson. Didn't like that, moved onto BB King, Albert King, John Lee Hooker and Muddy Waters, then backtracked again to Robert Johnson, and I like it.

dr_john
04-18-2006, 06:45 AM
'smokestack lightin' by howling wolf or 'dimples' by john lee hooker, can't remember which one i heard first but they were what got me hooked on the blues

sandwich_man
04-18-2006, 08:08 AM