3 wire humbucker??!??!

PDA

View Full Version : 3 wire humbucker??!??!

Inahrima
04-21-2006, 11:54 AM
This is in relation to my other thread Humbucking malibu (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=348516) , but thats not important compared to the realisation that...

The humbucker i have has three wires :confused: all the wiring diagrams i found show humbuckers with four wires. how on earth do i connect this? :( someone please help
The three wires are red, white and an unshielded one if it helps

rdineen
04-21-2006, 12:02 PM
im still a newbie at this but general electronics knowlege tells me that the unshielded is ground and red and white are positive and negative

Inahrima
04-21-2006, 12:03 PM
^ yeah...but what do i connect to the switch thing then? :confused:

rdineen
04-21-2006, 12:13 PM
what colors are on the guitar now? id say if theyre the same colors then just wire it up the same, if they're different get a multimeter and figure out which is pos and neg.

Preid
04-21-2006, 12:15 PM
My lace sensor has 3 wires, i just solidierd the 3rd to the metal of the input jack, the metal holding it not the actual jack wire.

Its a earth wire, kills the buzzing.

Dirk Gently
04-21-2006, 12:24 PM
Most factory humbuckers only have 3 wires. If you don't have a multimeter, hook up your red wire to the switch, the white to the ground, and the bare to the ground. If you get a thin sound, reverse the white and the red.

Inahrima
04-21-2006, 12:26 PM
Thanks alot. Now just to make sure, only one wire goes to the switch, and the rest to ground right?

Dirk Gently
04-21-2006, 12:27 PM
Correct.

Inahrima
04-21-2006, 12:29 PM
:cheers: mate, :p: and everything all those other chaps said in your sig

Dirk Gently
04-21-2006, 12:32 PM
Those are obviously enlightened and learned men. You'd be wise to pay heed to them. :cool:

Inahrima
04-21-2006, 12:51 PM