lots of local bands

PDA

View Full Version : lots of local bands

StJimmy88
04-25-2006, 10:55 AM
i live in southwestern PA...i didnt think there would be a whole lot of local bands around. The problem is: everywhere i turn theres a new band, looking for a drummer or guitarist or something. im just starting out...just got the guitar not too long ago. I was wondering if i should go ahead and start a band and see what happens or just play on my own for fun.

My brother in law and sister used to have a band a while back but they broke up. Their band recorded some of their own stuff too. So, theres a small opportunity there i think because they seem to want to get another one together soon.

lastly, most of the bands around here play death metal and punk. I thought if maybe i played another type of music that it would balance it out and i could be just as popular or something as they would be even tho were brand new. Although, i like to play a lot of punk music...i can still play some other stuff.

what do you ladies and gents think?

Zamboni
04-25-2006, 11:00 AM
I'd say, if you got into guitar not too long ago, that you take the time to refine your skills before you start a band up.

I fell into the same trap when I started out: being really gung-ho about having a band when I wasn't necessarily ready as a guitarist and musician.

But if you feel you're ready, I think you'll know when the time is right to start up a band.

-Zam :batman:

P.B.
04-25-2006, 11:17 AM
in my city there is really only a punk scene. but i play rock, and we have found good/quick sucess because we are so different from everyone else.

SilentDeftone
04-25-2006, 11:35 AM
*moved*

-SD :dance:

Dutch_Apples
04-25-2006, 08:55 PM