Agathis vs. other wood

PDA

View Full Version : Agathis vs. other wood

Reesh
07-14-2006, 02:47 AM
Ive heard agathis is the worst or at least pretty bad "dead" sounding wood to be an electric guitar. Im think of getting an ESP LTD MH250 which seems absolutely awesome apart from the Agathis body. Will i really notice i difference? if it werre an alder body would i love it any different? Ive been playing for almost 3 years, basically any style

Kid_Thorazine
07-14-2006, 02:52 AM
you will notice some difference, but if you like the sound of it then go ahead and get it, I have a BC Rich bass made of of agathis and i love its tone. But in genneral yeah an alder body would sound a little better.

rnrsoldier1461
07-14-2006, 02:52 AM
agathis is very flat but bright sounding, i personally hate it, especially for rock

Edwardthegreat5
07-14-2006, 02:54 AM
Agathis is the same thing as plywood, think of it this way, every bad guitar you've ever played was most likely made of agathis.

Reesh
07-14-2006, 02:56 AM
Well thats a bummer, im still giong to test it out at sam ash but ill have to search for another guitar in the meantime. thanks

Kid_Thorazine
07-14-2006, 03:00 AM
Agathis is the same thing as plywood, think of it this way, every bad guitar you've ever played was most likely made of agathis.

Agathis isnt the same thing as plywood, it is however a softer wood than what is gennerally used for making guitars. And actually ive played well made agathis guitars that sound better the not so well made mahogany and/or ash guitars. But still the general consensus is that agathis isnt a good tone wood.

Edwardthegreat5
07-14-2006, 03:01 AM
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/ESP-LTD-KH202-Kirk-Hammett-Signature-Electric-Guitar?sku=516639
Same thing as the MH, but has a basswood body and cooler inlays, get this instead of the MH and you'll be a lot happier.

azn_guitarist25
07-14-2006, 03:03 AM
yeh but trem and pickups aint great

Invictious
07-14-2006, 03:06 AM