Acoustic guitar strings, HELP!

PDA

View Full Version : Acoustic guitar strings, HELP!

benjirowell
10-29-2006, 04:03 PM
Hey guys this might sound really stupid, seen as i have been playing guitar for about 4 years now; but i don't know what strings to buy for my acoustic. (please note i only got this acoustic a few months ago and i haven't had it for 4 years and not changed the strings; its just i usually play electric.) I would like strings that i can bend nicely and that still produce a clean acoustic tone. My guitar is equipped with a truss rod so i could put electric strings on it, but i just dont know what to go for. Please, if someone could help/advise me i would be extremely grateful.

Thanks! :) :) :) :) :)

MrDinkleberry
10-29-2006, 04:08 PM
Ernie Balls medium or lights. Or D'addario's are real good.

UnsignedRecords
10-29-2006, 04:10 PM
elixirs are nice on the fingers. if you want them electric-like, go with a lighter gauge.

benjirowell
10-29-2006, 04:11 PM
OK, thanks, i will have a look in to them. But, are there any strings on the market for acoustic guitar, which will give you the "bendibility" of an electric.

led_zep_00
10-29-2006, 04:15 PM
well if you want to bend, just use a light gauge

benjirowell
10-29-2006, 04:20 PM
OK. Whats the difference in chances of them snapping whilst play, when you go for a lighter gauge. Is it a lot easier?

UnsignedRecords
10-29-2006, 04:32 PM
it's easier to bend, therefore easier to break. what're you playing?

benjirowell
10-29-2006, 04:33 PM
Just an Adam Black S5

TinTin8
10-29-2006, 05:25 PM
im a huge fan of the martin sp+ i think they bend easily

tom183
10-30-2006, 06:47 AM
are u gonna be tuning down?

CoDee
10-30-2006, 06:52 AM
Tuning down or using a lighter gauge would help with bends. Also, if you bend with only one finger when you play electric (I do), try doing the bends with your ring finger and putting the middle and index fingers behind it for extra strength.

silvertone420
10-30-2006, 01:33 PM