Raking?

PDA

View Full Version : Raking?

Zaphod_Beeblebr
11-01-2006, 10:09 PM
Now i've been playing bass for a couple of years and i don't think i'm that bad, on the other hand i'm no virtuoso, but i do have a question:

Is raking a bad habit?

I've been raking ever since i started playing, but i think it's hindering my string skipping, so is it really a bad habit when trying to build some serious speed or should i just train myself out of doing it only when skipping strings?

Incubus_SCIENCE
11-01-2006, 10:14 PM
Not if you can control it. I rake a lot, but I don't feel it hinders my technique. It is much easier to play downward runs while raking. Raking with 3 fingers really gets you some interesting sounds... So, its not a bad thing. You just need to learn how to get it controlled.

jazz_rock_feel
11-01-2006, 11:07 PM
In my opinion it is because it is a lot harder to play faster when raking. Like when playing some crazy Jaco stuff there is no way Jaco rakes because it is ways faster to use both fingers instead of just one on the way down it's crazy hard I mean you COULD if you really wanted to but it is a lot harder to make the speed right. I might be talking about the wrong kind of raking the thing I am talking about is also called dragging where on the way down you use all your index finger instead of alternating index middle and I think you might be talking about RAKING raking. If so ignore this post

StygianFury666
11-02-2006, 04:03 PM