How to change a saddle


PDA

View Full Version : How to change a saddle


TiteritoClasico
11-05-2006, 06:04 PM
Hi guys, I bought a new guitar and it seems to have a problem , the bridge saddle is set to high , and the strings are to high and im having problems to play . I was wondering how can i change this and how much it would cost ?

CorduroyEW
11-05-2006, 06:17 PM
You don't really need to change the saddle. Just sand it down bit. The key is to sand from the bottom, and go slow. There is some info about the best way to do this somewhere on the Taylor website but I can't be bothered to find it.

TiteritoClasico
11-05-2006, 08:15 PM
Thanks, when you say sand it down, do i do that with the ( my first language aint english so here comes a long description ) thing I use to file my nails ?

Also , do i need to remove the strings and then the saddle ? and from the bottom as in ,remove the saddle and chip from the lower part ?

Thanks in advance and sorry if the post was strange or repetitive. ^_^

Chips-
11-06-2006, 03:37 AM
This shows you how to make one from a blank, but you'll get the idea

http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=9AZs2TVq0asaK&notag=1

And while were at it, here's how to replace the nut

Part 1 http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=9AZs2TVq0asYg&notag=1
Part 2 http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=9AZs2TVq0asZG&notag=1

Those were made by kens d28 from UMGF.