loose input jack?


PDA

View Full Version : loose input jack?


Owned
12-09-2006, 12:31 AM
guitar: squier affinity stratocaster.

sometimes, i plug in and the guitar makes no sound even though EVERYTHING is set up right, the volume's up on everything but no sound comes out of the amp.

sometimes if i jiggle the lead around when its in the jack the sound cuts in and out asif the lead's not making contact properly.

i undo the jack and put the lead in so i can see if it's touching and it usually looks like it and then i slightly bend the little piece of metal that is supposed to touch the lead a bit more so it's nearer to the lead.

then like a few weeks later i have to do this again.

wtf is wrong?

ilovecanada1121
12-09-2006, 12:38 AM
get a new jack, squiers are built cheap.

Black_Fender
12-09-2006, 12:39 AM
hey hey! I got the same guitar and I think I had the same problem. When you say the input jack, do you mean the guitar's output jack?

rfleury
12-09-2006, 12:40 AM
Check you cord first off.... but if you can move the wire thats connected to the output jack, then thats a problem. You need to solder it back in place if its loose.

somethingcool76
12-09-2006, 12:40 AM
guitar: squier affinity stratocaster.



thats whats wrong.

actually no, i have one and it works fine, just make sure when the cable is in you dont jiggle it too much

Black_Fender
12-09-2006, 12:44 AM
I think my problem was that the jack was loose. I had to take it to a shop to get it tightened. I wouldn't suggest doing it yourself, as you might twist the wires up and screw up the guitar. If the jack is tight, then it might be a problem with the wires or soemthing. Definitely a problem with the jack. I think it would be a simple fix.

sysD
12-09-2006, 12:46 AM
For my Squier Strat I had to resolder those wires.

Owned
12-09-2006, 12:48 AM
hmmm...ok, well i'll take it to the shop.

Nvrxcominxhome
12-09-2006, 12:50 AM
happens to me all the time take it to a guitar shop they fix it for 10-15 bucks

Edwardthegreat5
12-09-2006, 12:50 AM
Before you do anything, try a different cable, thats usually the problem in cases like these.

Owned
12-09-2006, 02:18 AM
nope, definately not the cable.

like, i plug in, it doesn't work, i jiggle lead around, sometimes the sound cuts in and out and then i inscrew the jack and fiddle around a bit and it works for another few weeks.

TinTin8
12-09-2006, 02:26 AM
i have a problem ... on my Epi Lp Gothic, the Guitar output jack is never stationary ... the damn jack will keep spinnign in circles, even though the bolts on tight ... what problem is this with? bolts? or jack

Edwardthegreat5
12-09-2006, 03:58 AM
Well, check you wiring, most shops charge 15 bucks to fix a simple output jack, so Id reccomend doing it yourself, all you'll need is a soldering iron and a touch of solder, and its fixed.

Wiring diagrams can be found at http://www.seymourduncan.com/support/schematics.shtml

Owned
12-09-2006, 04:04 AM
how can you be sure it's the wiring though?

maybe we can narrow it down:

1. both my leads work fine, they aren't the problem.
2. the amp is fine, because i use other guitars on it.

but if i look at the wiring on the jack, it looks fine, all connected, should i like, add a tiny drop of solder onto the existing connection?

Owned
12-09-2006, 07:07 AM
bump :(

Edwardthegreat5
12-09-2006, 07:10 AM
how can you be sure it's the wiring though?

maybe we can narrow it down:

1. both my leads work fine, they aren't the problem.
2. the amp is fine, because i use other guitars on it.

but if i look at the wiring on the jack, it looks fine, all connected, should i like, add a tiny drop of solder onto the existing connection?
Then, are you sure it's not your cable, just try a different one to make sure.

Owned
12-09-2006, 08:23 AM
yep, i've tried two, the only two i have, and i know it's not either of them because when i plug them into the amp and touch the ends they buzz.

vowel
12-09-2006, 09:11 AM
I had this problem way back when. My problem was the jack input, the guitar had a bad soldering job or the jack hit the a wire inside and knocked it out. Either way, had to re-solder one of the wires myself...

jj1565
12-09-2006, 10:43 AM
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a230/jj1565/f74d7edf.jpg

remove the jack, insert a good plug make sure the plug makes contacts.

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a230/jj1565/INPUTJACKLABELED.jpg

when it's out, make sure both wires are connected. and dont tighten the jack without taking it out of the guitar. or ull snap the wires again.

Devon8822
12-09-2006, 10:49 AM
thats normal for a cheap guitar infact for any guitar... either get a nice one or tighten it ever week.

Rock Savior
12-09-2006, 11:29 AM
buy a new one....like 5-10 bucks...

squiers are known for breaking..

also as a temporary fix, do what jenny said...

lookie here
12-09-2006, 02:13 PM
I think my problem was that the jack was loose. I had to take it to a shop to get it tightened. I wouldn't suggest doing it yourself, as you might twist the wires up and screw up the guitar. If the jack is tight, then it might be a problem with the wires or soemthing. Definitely a problem with the jack. I think it would be a simple fix.
Why would you? Its not that hard. Just follow the pis that Jenny posted and your all set:cheers:

Owned
12-09-2006, 09:55 PM
nah, i've already done 100 times what those pics show lol.

i'm taking it to the shop.

jj1565
12-09-2006, 10:31 PM
if the sound is cutting out, the cables are good, the soldered wires look fine, and bending the arm makes it work better, then u can swap out that 1/4" jack, $4 at stewmac.com. or most guitar stores.

or let them charge u $25-30 to connect those two wires.

dustinrhocks4
12-09-2006, 10:34 PM
If yo bought the starter pack then the wire is one problem, you need a new jack and you probably need to resolder some stuff too. Had to do this to mine.