how to fill in the gaps

PDA

View Full Version : how to fill in the gaps

mangaka82
01-11-2007, 05:33 AM
so i started playing like, two years ago or something. Anyways, i'm not really into like... "the scene" or w/e you wanna call it. A couple friends and I decided that we wanna try the whole "band" thing, mostly for fun, but we're pretty passionate about music in general. So, I play mostly lead, but i'm working on my rythm, and my friend also plays guitar, and some bass. My other friend sings, but he's from a chorus background, not really a soloing singer. we're working on that.... anyways, we don' t have a drummer. And we don't know anyone who plays drums, or anything of that sort. But i know its important to have a live drummer (we've been working off programmed drums) and i think that my friends would take the band thing more seriously if we had one. Anyways, my question is how do you go about finding one? Posting on those ads in guitar center? Getting closer to the ""scene? etc? We don't have much material done, because none of us have been taking it very seriously (including myself, until recently) so do you think we should just work on producing more?

les_paul_01
01-11-2007, 05:41 AM
just talk to everyone you know, and chances are you know someone, or know someone who knows someone who plays drums.

it's funny, my band is going through the exact same thing right now, and we still haven't found anyone.

just remember, it's always better having someone who you know/like than someone you found out from a classified or something like that. as you said, it's mostly for fun, so try and keep it that way, without any tattered ego from a disenfranchised drummer getting on your nerves.

good luck!

GiantRaven
01-11-2007, 12:48 PM
One of you guys could start learning drums

Freunleven
01-11-2007, 03:03 PM