One Guitarist?

PDA

View Full Version : One Guitarist?

EmitRemmus
02-06-2007, 01:47 PM
I was actually hoping that there was already a post about this but;

How skilled do you have to be to be in a band with one guitarist? All the bands i've seen on the website have rhythm and lead, I am a beginner and I'm not intending to join a band very soon, but I would like to know if its a bad idea or not. :confused:

"Tele" Steve
02-06-2007, 01:54 PM
Well, there are pop-punk bands like Green Day and Blink-182 where the level of guitar skill isn't very high. But then there's bands like Cream, Led Zeppelin, The Who, etc. where the skill level is much higher. As with anything, I guess it depends on what type of music you want to play. But one thing I do think is important when considering being the only guitarist in a band is that your mistakes will be much more apparent and you have to fill more space in the sound so to speak. Having a really good bassist would be essential I think.

marmoseti
02-06-2007, 01:56 PM
It really depends on what you are playing, the number of guitarists doesn't have a huge bearing on the difficulty. If anything a single guitarist song would be easier, because it's more likely to be strumming some chords (comme Oasis) rather than playing solos, although this is by no means a rule.

GiantRaven
02-06-2007, 01:57 PM
Simple answer: Not very :p:

claptonfan55
02-06-2007, 02:00 PM
Actually, if you're an average player, you could probably be in a band with one guitarist without a problem. The rhythm and lead duo is more of a preference thing, anyway. Those who have the two guitarists often like to have a really full sound or want some rhythm behind the solos. Also, a lot of bands only have (or have only had) one guitarist. For example, Cream, Led Zeppelin, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Green Day, etc.

Paradise Lost
02-06-2007, 02:00 PM
Not necessarily , AFI (very underrated guitar work) has only one guitarist.

Take a look at some of their tabs.