Gibson les paul standard VS. les paul supreme ?

PDA

View Full Version : Gibson les paul standard VS. les paul supreme ?

fender&gibson
05-05-2007, 06:40 AM
i've played a standard before and i thought it was an amazing guitar.
so i surfed a bit on the gibson site, and i found out there is a les paul supreme.
i think this is the top-of-the-line les paul.

which one is better? or what are the differences ? or what is THE best les paul (doesn't have to be one of these 2)?

thanks. :peace:

hahoomisham
05-05-2007, 06:57 AM
i have no knowledge about the supreme, but when i once played a standard in the store, it blew me away, and the clerk said it was the second best gibson, the first being the custum....no he was probably lieing so i will buy a 2500$ guitar....but the custom is probably the best gibson les paul....

tpot06
05-05-2007, 07:00 AM
As far as I'm aware the supreme tops the custom. Just look at the higher level of finishing in the inlays and stuff. Plus its called supreme. Why would they call it that if it wasn't??

Thecla
05-05-2007, 07:12 AM
well it is called supreme that may says enough

furlong2669
05-05-2007, 07:13 AM
hey guys, the supreme is a higher model than the custom, it has a better finish,more colour choice,but one reason why its different is because it has a chambered body which makes it lighter, so that way you stil get your les paul sound but with less back trouble!

chrisbeevor
05-05-2007, 07:15 AM
it's not that much of a les paul though? it's chambered

furlong2669
05-05-2007, 07:18 AM
ive never played one but id assume even with the chambered body there would be very little difference

Matsols
05-05-2007, 07:34 AM
ive never played one but id assume even with the chambered body there would be very little difference

Wouldn't you loose a whole lot of sustain?

furlong2669
05-05-2007, 07:36 AM
i guess u would but because of the chambered body im guessing they must have done something to make up for the sustain

Jinskee
05-05-2007, 12:36 PM