How do you play jazz chords (what types are used)?

PDA

View Full Version : How do you play jazz chords (what types are used)?

Long_way_down10
08-23-2007, 01:03 PM
So, I'm really new to jazz guitar and I was wondering... I know that jazz chords are almost always different from chords used in a lot of other types of music, but...
1) What kinds of chords are used most often, and
2) How do you play them (this one isn't as important at all because I guess I can just look them up).

I would really appreciate any help you guys could give me.
THANKS! :)

backtothe70s
08-23-2007, 01:09 PM
lots of colorings-9, maj7, 131, 13 mess around^^

Themitch
08-24-2007, 12:20 AM
^Yeha, the ones you most commonly come across are 7ths, no matter how complicated the piece is. (Big generalization but meh). You will find just about anything, any chord structure you can come up with that makes the least bit of sense.

6, -6, 6/9, -6/9, add6, 7, -7, maj7, 9, -9, maj9, add9, 11, -11, 11#9, 13, 13b5, 13#5#9, 13#5b9, -7b5(half diminished), Diminished, augmented, augmented 7, augmented 9, 7#9, sus 2, sus 4.

There will be more you might come across, but usually, in a written piece (big band or otherwise) these are the usual suspects. Im not saying this is all you might find though. Some songs get crazy. What im trying to say is, expect everything, try to learn as you go instead of all at once, it gets overwhelming.

Stukart
08-27-2007, 12:07 PM
I just recently got into it aswel, I understand a bit of it, I'll share some of my findings..

Jazz chords are almost always made up of at least 4 notes (so no bonfire chords eh), and theres alot of theory involved.. a common progression is

Imaj7 VIm7 IIm7 V7
which in the key of C means
Cmaj7 Am7 Dm7 G7

G7 being the dominant chord here, that would mean that the first sub-dominant is D7 replacing Dm7 making

Cmaj7 Am7 D7 G7

playing these two progressions side by side sounds pretty neat actually.