Where to now?

PDA

View Full Version : Where to now?

Irish Joe
09-17-2007, 08:10 AM
I am self taught. Recently I have hit a brick wall in my playing. Most of them time, I just play a song I know, or improvise and just play around.

I don't know what to learn now though. I know my major scale and modes, and the harmonic minor to some degree. I know chords and how to construct them (I am still learning extended chords).
What else should I now learn? Should I learn my melodic minor and harmonic minor scales all over the board?

Lucky E
09-17-2007, 09:37 AM
You need some inspiration. Sounds like you've got a good start on scale and modal theory.

Here are some ways to get out of your musical rut:

Learn some new techniques. Whether it's fingerpickin' or sweep picking some new 'trick' will keep your interest fresh.

Play/learn/listen to some acoustic music. Sometimes I'll get burnt out on playing electric guitar. Rather than stop playing all together, I'll pick up the acoustic and play only acoustic for several days/weeks.

Play/jam with other musicians. Whether they are more or less experienced than you are you'll get a different perspective.

Listen to a different kind of guitar music than you're used to. There are virtuoso players in almost every genre of music: metal, blues, jazz, acoustic, country...have you ever listened to some of those chickin' pickin' telecaster country guys like Brad Paisley? A different kind of music but no less amazing.

Rather than work on licks and riffage, concentrate on writing music. It's a different skill set but will still keep you with a guitar in hand.

I'm always inspired when I see some dude rippin' it up on youtube. I used to think I was a pretty good guitarist til I started seeing some of these guys. It just makes me want to practice and get better.

Just my thoughts.

asht89
09-17-2007, 09:48 AM