band leading

PDA

View Full Version : band leading

ed_roffmann93
12-17-2007, 12:21 AM
im the lead singer/guitarist of a band and the other people havent been playing as long as i have. and i cant keep everyone on beat. is there anything i can do to prevent this ive tryed metronomes and play the same thing as them and they still cant keep a beat.

OpposingForce
12-17-2007, 12:24 AM
They need to practice..a lot. It's pretty bad when everyone can't even stay somewhat in time. I'm a drummer, my main instrument, and I realize the importance of good timing. I'm not saying they have to be spot on exactly like a metronome (though it is very helpful to practice with one) but bands need to at least be around the same pace. They need more experience and practice if you ask me.

Another bassist
12-17-2007, 01:05 AM
They need to practice..a lot. It's pretty bad when everyone can't even stay somewhat in time. I'm a drummer, my main instrument, and I realize the importance of good timing. I'm not saying they have to be spot on exactly like a metronome (though it is very helpful to practice with one) but bands need to at least be around the same pace. They need more experience and practice if you ask me.

Agreed. I play the drums too, and if your bandmates don't even know how to keep count correctly, they probably aren't ready to be in a band in the first place. However, if you're serious about the band, just teach 'em how to keep the "1 e & uh 2 e & uh etc." count. It shouldn't take them much time to get down. After that, you guys should be good to go...hopefully...

Patrick Curley
12-17-2007, 03:36 AM
You have to let the drummer take over that stuff. If he's trying to follow you he'll never figure it out for himself. It's not that hard to keep a beat, my 5 year old can do it, but you have to just say "Right, this is your job, you are driving this band" and let him be really bad at it for a while, he'll never figure it out otherwise.

frigginjerk
12-17-2007, 06:12 PM