What should I know to play in a band?

PDA

View Full Version : What should I know to play in a band?

Rabada
12-24-2007, 12:47 AM
I tried a search and couldn't find anything.

I started playing guitar a couple of months ago, and fell in love. I can play a few easy songs all the way through, and am working on a few more complicated songs. I am taking lessons from an instructor and am trying to learn my scales. Basically, what all should I focus on learning before I try to join a band?

cjb2293
12-24-2007, 12:52 AM
learn your scales, especially if you plan on being a lead guitarist and making solos, and also make sure you can keep a good rhythm and play along with other instruments (like music off your computer or a friends guitar)

rocknskate4
12-24-2007, 12:53 AM
practice, practice, practice

Rabada
12-24-2007, 12:56 AM
learn your scales, especially if you plan on being a lead guitarist and making solos, and also make sure you can keep a good rhythm and play along with other instruments (like music off your computer or a friends guitar)

I bought Guitar Pro and am learning Reptillia by playing along.

GITARdud391
12-24-2007, 12:58 AM
definitely be able to keep time,pay close attention to the snare and bass drums.

axemanchris
12-24-2007, 01:11 AM
Being successful is all about the following few things:
1. Be competent on your instrument. You don't need to be Malmsteen. Just competent.
2. Be sensitive to the big picture. Play with taste, and know when you are (and aren't) in tune and in time, and not too loud. Let others have their space too.
3. Good songs and a good singer are way more important than who can shred faster.
4. If you want to get signed, be prepared to play the game of 'the young and the pretty.'