I hate people

PDA

View Full Version : I hate people

valennic
12-29-2007, 04:15 AM
I just found out that the rhythm guitarist for the band I just started doesn't know any music theory at all, and the rest of the band does. What do I do?

Hadeed
12-29-2007, 04:25 AM
give the guy a chance, don't be a dork about it.

Lrn2shrd69
12-29-2007, 04:25 AM
kik his ass out

rush5757
12-29-2007, 04:38 AM
How about your band talks to your guitarist and tells him that you all would perfer a more experienced guitarist. No reason to hate the guy just because he's new...

valennic
12-29-2007, 04:51 AM
I don't hate the guy, it was just a bit of a nasty blow to the plans. So should I teach him stuff along the way, or should I just find a guitarist who already knows theory? (This guy was all self taught by the way.)

jazz_croatia
12-29-2007, 07:24 AM
Try and teach him something. If he is willing to learn and he learns remotely fast keep him. If not find a replacement. If nothing there are tons of guitarists out there.

Symmetry4321
12-29-2007, 07:08 PM
Teach him stuff on the way
He may be a very good player (correct me if i am wrong) but not know any theory (thats what my band was like for a while, except it was 2 people without theory, now we all do and get along as a unit quite well) and you might battle through that part well and come out stronger as friends as well as band breatherin (sorry for the lame word)

valennic
12-29-2007, 07:36 PM
^Good point, he's not horrible, but he's not too good either, so I'll give it a shot, see what happens, if worst comes to worst, I'll find another

The Fret-Dancer
12-29-2007, 07:39 PM
The other guitarist in my band knows tons of theory and i dont know a lick of it but im still an awesome player. You should give him a chance. Is knowing music theory really a necessary requirement to be in a band?

valennic
12-29-2007, 07:58 PM